Skip to main content

The finalists for this year’s  Cardiff & District Law Society (CDLS) awards have been announced, in advance of it’s annual dinner, hosted on Friday 10 November 2023.

The awards celebrate the next generation of lawyers in Cardiff, and projects for the community and equality, diversity and inclusion – all a strategic focus for CDLS, the largest regional law society in Wales.

The 2023 winners will be announced at the CDLS annual dinner on Friday night, a sold out event that attracts the entire range of legal practices, barristers chambers and supporting professional services in the region.

The event is hosted by CDLS President Jenine Abdo (Hutton’s Law), with guest speaker Jamie Baulch.

On announcing the finalists, Jenine said: 

“Congratulations to all the finalists announced today for the Cardiff & District Law Society Awards 2023 – it was an honour to read the through the inspiring entires that made for a  tough decision making process amongst the judging team. Our sincere thanks to all those who entered and shared their stories.

”We are incredibly proud of the achievements in our corner of the legal sector in wales and are looking forward to celebrating your successes at our annual dinner.”

The CLDS awards 2023 categories and  finalists are:

Rising Star of the Year

  • Bethan Tapper, Wendy Hopkins Family Law Practice
  • Hannah Newberry, Alun Jones Family Law
  • Emily Borghese, Lux Family Law

Equality, Diversity & Inclusion Champion of the Year

Sponsored by the Solicitors Regulation Authority (SRA)

  • Blake Morgan LLP
  • Harding Evans Solicitors

Access to Justice (Pro Bono) Initiative of the Year

Sponsored by Eversheds Sutherland

  • Ukraine Project Cymru (Asylum Justice & Cardiff University)
  • University of South Wales Legal Advice Clinic & Capital Law Ltd
  • Wendy Hopkins Family Law Practice

The winners will be announced at our Annual Dinner this Friday (10 November) at the Coal Exchange Hotel, Cardiff.

Simon Mumford Memorial Award 2023

The winner of the prestigious Simon Mumford Memorial Award 2023 will also be announced on the night – a judges’ choice award given to an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to the legal sector in Wales.

CDLS would like to express it’s thanks to this year’s judging panel, comprising of CDLS Council members and presidential team, the SRA, Eversheds Sutherland, and HHJ Adem Muzaffer.